Swim England squad to gain ‘valuable experience' at Swedish Grand Prix

A team of 42 athletes are representing Swim England at the 2023 Swedish Grand Prix in Kungsbaka, Sweden this weekend.

The competition will take place at the Kungsbacka Badhus Sports Centre for three days from Friday 10 to Sunday 12 March with athletes coming from all across Europe to take part.

They will be joined by a team of 20 staff members which is headed up by Swim England’s Interim Head of Swimming Talent, Richard Blackshaw.

The group flew out to Sweden on Thursday and have the opportunity to train and prepare on Friday before the competition begins in the evening.

It will be integrated team as para-swimmers Luke Boyles and Fern Sneddon will be a part of the team in Kungsbaka.

On Friday there will be an evening session of racing before both a morning and evening session on Saturday and Sunday.

The evening sessions will begin at 4:00pm (GMT) on Friday and Saturday and 3:00pm on Sunday whilst the morning session on Saturday will commence at 9:00am and at 8:00am on Sunday.

A great opportunity

Blackshaw, who is also the Team Leader for the event said that the Swedish Grand Prix will give the group a valuable experience ahead of packed year of competition.

He said: “Competitions such as the Swedish Grand Prix are a great opportunity for the swimmers to prepare themselves for the European Juniors, European Youth Olympic Festival and the Youth Commonwealth Games.

“It will provide them with a valuable experience of competing at an International venue against a number of experienced and talented swimmers from across the continent.

“The group will have a full team of dedicated staff to support them throughout the three days and we’re looking forward to seeing how they imbed the knowledge and experience from their coaches to aid their development and performance.”

You can follow all the results from the Swedish Grand Prix here.

Swim England squad for the 2023 Swedish Grand Prix

  • Emma Allatt-File
  • Oscar Barlow
  • Charlotte Bianchi
  • Vadim Bosc
  • Amelie Blocksidge
  • Luke Boyles
  • Charlie Broome
  • Alexander Casey
  • Iona Colbert
  • Phoebe Cooper
  • Evie Dilley
  • Kennedy Denby
  • Oscar Dodds
  • Lucy Fox
  • Harvey Freeman
  • Libby Freeman
  • Calvin Fry
  • Isabelle Goodwin
  • Reece Grady
  • Robbie Hemmings
  • Toby Hill
  • Aimee Hood
  • Kidiest Hodgson
  • Michael Klimaszewski
  • Erin Little
  • Eva Okaro
  • Alexander Painter
  • Darcy Revitt
  • Amelia Robertson
  • Seinna Robinson
  • Reuben Rowbotham-Keating
  • Leah Schlosshan
  • Fern Sneddon
  • Joseph Stout
  • Lara Thomson
  • Niamh Ward
  • Oliver Vedrenne
  • Sophie Weston
  • Edward Marcal Whittles
  • Hollie Widdows
  • Elliot Woodburn
  • Harry Wynne-Jones

Coaches and staff

  • Richard Blackshaw, Competition Lead
  • Mike Parker, National Talent Officer
  • Tom McManus, National Talent Officer
  • Jo John, Coach Development
  • Craig Robertson, Lead Physiologist and Filming analyst
  • Abbie Clarkson, Filming analyst
  • Gemma Hathway, S&C Coach
  • Laura Salmon, Nutritionist
  • Alex Stoyle, Sports Psychologist
  • Lisa Sharrat, Physiotherapist
  • Marie Atkinson Brian, Lead Team Manager
  • Darren Simms, Assistant Team Manager
  • Barry Aldrick, Head Coach
  • Chris Leighton, Coach
  • Dan Cocking, Coach
  • Dan Pilbrow, Coach
  • Alex Pinninger, Coach
  • Adam Naylor, Coach
  • Adam Taylor, Coach
  • Lewis Dunford, Coach