Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Tully Kearney takes MC 100m Back gold

City of Manchester’s Tully Kearney (S7) swam a two second personal best time to claim the gold in the women’s MC 100m Backstroke on the final day of the Swim England National Summer Meet 2017.

The four-time Para-Swimming World Championship gold medallist, who also took gold in the 400m Free on day three, dominated the MC final.

She touched in 1:30.66 for 728 British Disability Points (BDP). This was the highest points score of any para-swimmer throughout the competition.

“I really wanted to improve on what I did in heats, so gold was a massive achievement,” said Kearney, who won her World titles in the S9 classification two years ago. “I was really happy with my PB.

“I’ve been out with injury for quite a long time now and it affected my condition so I’ve now been reclassified to show that.

“I’ve now been trying to work out what my body can do because there’s a lot of things I now struggle with or I can’t do. So now the plan is to go back to training, keep getting fitter and see what I can do next year.”

Ella Cooper-Holmes of Cockermouth was second by points, swimming 1:37.61 for 583 BDP. The 17-year-old S7 swimmer  ducked under her personal best time set in the heats for silver. The bronze medal went to Katie Crowhurst of Wycombe District. This was the second bronze medal for the S13 swimmer, who clocked 1:21.53 for 551 BDP.

Wellington wins men’s MC 100m Back

Harry Wellington (S13) won gold in the men’s MC 100m Backstroke after a tight battle against S10 swimmer Callum Pearson in the final. Salisbury swimmer Wellington was just over a second faster than Pearson and 20 points ahead. He made it to the wall in 1:08.26 for 572 BDP.

Pearson of Hastings finished in 1:09.76, scoring 552 for the silver medal. Joshua Monaghan-Coombs of Saxon Crown took the final spot of the podium. The S9 swimmer won bronze with a time of 1:16.64 and 523 BDP.

  • Click here to see full results from the Swim England National Summer Meet 2017.