Anna Hopkin included in podium squad on British Swimming’s World Class Programme

British Swimming has selected 36 English athletes for its 2020-21 World Class Programme – a season which includes the rearranged Tokyo Olympic Games.

Loughborough’s Anna Hopkin has been included in the podium squad after impressing during a breakthrough 2019, which saw her reach the final of the 50m Freestyle at the World Championships in Gwangju, South Korea.

New additions to the podium potential tier include Bath’s Jonathan Adam and Montpellier’s Hector Pardoe.

In total, 53 swimmers from all the home nations have been selected for the World Class Programme.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, and no competitive events for the past six months, the selections have been made based on athletes’ past performances as well as detailed analysis of their ability to achieve success at the sport’s major events.

Chris Spice, British Swimming National Performance Director, said: “Due to the challenging circumstances since March this year we have managed to retain our key athletes on the World Class Programme for the coming season and, at the same time, make room for some bright young talent coming through the pathway.

“We look forward to working with all programme athletes this coming season in order for them to be in the best possible shape to swim their best in the summer of 2021.”

World Class Programme 2020-21


  • Freya Anderson, Bath NC (England)
  • Georgia Davies, Energy Standard (Wales)
  • Tom Dean, Bath NC (England)
  • Luke Greenbank, Loughborough NC (England)
  • James Guy, Bath NC (England)
  • Anna Hopkin, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Calum Jarvis, Bath NC (Wales)
  • Cameron Kurle, University of Stirling (England)
  • Max Litchfield, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Siobhan Marie O’Connor, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Scott McLay, University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • Adam Peaty, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Ben Proud, Energy Standard (England)
  • Molly Renshaw, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Duncan Scott, University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • Laura Stephens, Plymouth Leander (England)
  • Alys Thomas, Swim Swansea (Wales)
  • James Wilby, Loughborough NC (England)

Podium Potential

  • Jonathon Adam, Bath NC (England)
  • Kyle Booth, City Of Cardiff  (Wales)
  • Cameron Brooks-Clarke, City of Sheffield Swim Squad (England)
  • Charlie Brown, City of Sheffield Swim Squad (England)
  • Jack Burnell, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Greg Butler, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Freya Colbert, Nova Centurion SC (England)
  • David Cumberlidge, Edinburgh University (England)
  • Kathleen Dawson, University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • Alice Dearing, Loughborough University (England)
  • Michaella Glenister, University of Stirling (England)
  • Archie Goodburn, Loughborough NC (Scotland)
  • Holly Hibbott, Bath NC (England)
  • Charlie Hutchison, Loughborough NC (Scotland)
  • Daniel Jervis, Swim Swansea (Wales)
  • Emily Large, Bath NC (England)
  • Joe Litchfield, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Ed Mildred, Northampton SC (England)
  • Ross Murdoch, University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • David Murphy, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Hector Pardoe, Montpellier (England)
  • Jacob Peters, Bath NC (England)
  • Nick Pyle, University of Stirling (England)
  • Matt Richards, Bath NC (Wales)
  • Katie Robertson, Edinburgh University (Scotland)
  • Toby Robinson, Loughborough NC (England)
  • Emma Russell, Heart of Midlothian /University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • Ciara Schlosshan, Bath NC (England)
  • Katie Shanahan, City of Glasgow Swim Team (Scotland)
  • Chloe Tutton, City Of Cardiff  (Wales)
  • Kayla Van Der Merwe, Winchester City Penguins  (England)
  • Tamryn Van Selm, Millfield School (England)
  • Jacob Whittle, Derventio Excel (England)
  • Cassie Wild, University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • Brodie Williams, Bath NC (England)