County Team Champs sees energy and atmosphere – but who will block out noise?

There will be big energy and a great atmosphere around the venue as the GoCardless Swim England National County Team Championships take place – but which side will come out on top?

Last year’s event saw Kent win their first-ever National County Team Championships title, but it wasn’t a straightforward victory!

Yorkshire pushed them all the way, with the result going down to the final event of the competition and just four points making the difference in the end.

The winning points total was 469 – the same amount that secured Devon the crown back in 2019.

Will that be the magic number yet again? Or will the 500-point barrier be broken this time around?

That was a feat that Yorkshire came close to in 2018 as they racked up 497 points on their way to successfully defending their County Team Champs title for the third year running.

It will be up to the 37 counties to battle it out – with Scotland North making a return to the competition after not competing in 2022.

Here’s a reminder of what to expect on Sunday 8 October…

More than 700 individual swimmers will race across a total of 31 events during the one day, with 24 individual events and seven relay races set to take place.

Those numbers mean there has been more than 1,000 entries into this year’s competition and the total distance to be swam will be 144,300m.

As always, there will be two divisions, with Division One made up of 20 counties and a further 17 counties in Division Two.

In addition to Kent’s success last time out, a determined Derbyshire side also secured an instant return to Division One after lifting the Division Two title.

Joining them in achieving promotion to the top flight was Sussex, Hampshire and Warwickshire.

Meanwhile, the counties relegated to Division Two were Oxfordshire and North Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Leicestershire and Swim Wales West.

All races from both Division One and Division Two will be streamed on the Swim England Live Stream page.

Meet the counties

Division one

  • Kent
  • Yorkshire
  • Northumberland & Durham
  • Devon
  • Surrey
  • Scotland East
  • Lancashire
  • Scotland West
  • Somerset
  • Essex
  • Middlesex
  • Berkshire & South Buckinghamshire
  • Worcestershire
  • Swim Wales East
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Suffolk
  • Derbyshire
  • Sussex
  • Hampshire
  • Warwickshire

Division two

  • Swim Wales West
  • Oxfordshire & North Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Leicestershire
  • Cheshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Norfolk
  • Dorset
  • Gloucestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Bedfordshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Cornwall
  • Cumbria
  • Shropshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Scotland North