Swim England

A nation swimming

Aquatic Skills Framework - an introduction for swimming teachers

The Aquatic Skills Framework is for children that have completed the Learn to Swim Framework and helps them to build and develop sport specific skills in one of the four disciplines: Diving, Swimming, Artistic Swimming and Water Polo.

Here’s what you need to know about the Aquatic Skills Framework.

Age group

For more competent swimmers

Key focus areas

  • Building the sport specific skills needed for competitive swimming, diving, artistic swimming and water polo
  • Extending the skills and abilities of young swimmers and introducing Rookie Lifesaving and snorkelling

Corresponding Awards

  • Awards for Learn to Swim Stages 8-10 plus complementary awards

Teacher qualifications

ASA Level 2 Aquatics Teacher
Level 2 Coach for specific sport

Recommended training

Discipline or sport specific CPDs

Aquatic Skills Framework FAQs

Here are some of our more commonly asked questions about the Aquatic Skills Framework.

What qualifications do I need to deliver the various stages?
  • ASA/UKCC Level 2 Teacher for Teaching Aquatics is qualified to lead and deliver aquatic sessions.
  • ASA/UKCC Level 1 Support Teacher for Teaching Aquatics is qualified to assist and support a class under the direction of a Level 2 Teacher.
  • It is recommended that to deliver Learn to Swim Stages 8, 9 and 10, a Level 2 Teacher attends the relevant CPD specific to that discipline.
  • ASA/UKCC Level 2 Coach may also deliver Learn to Swim Stages 8, 9 and 10 in the discipline specific to their qualification e.g. a Level 2 Water Polo Coach may deliver Learn to Swim Stages 8, 9 and 10 in Water Polo.
  • Staff training, in-house training and team meetings will also support the sharing of information, knowledge and experience between teachers and sites where there is more than one pool. Recognition of training for teachers and coaches will support the workforce, raise standards and aid consistency between delivery and sites.
Why should our Learn to Swim Programme try and deliver Learn to Swim Stages 8-10?

Many swimmers drop out of swimming for many reasons. Introducing the other disciplines can help retain them in your programme.

Swimming coordinators do not have to wait until all swimmers have achieved Learn to Swim Stage 7 to introduce elements of Stages 8-10. Some synchronised swimming or diving activities could be introduced as a contrasting activity earlier in the programme.

The contents of Learn to Swim Stages 8-10 have been designed so they are easy to implement and should be integrated into your Learn to Swim programme. Anybody delivering Learn to Swim Stages 1-7 should look to also offer Stages 8-10 to deliver a more seamless programme to motivate swimmers.

Can anyone else offer Learn to Swim Stages 8-10?

As long as implementation is supported by appropriately qualified staff, Learn to Swim Stages 8-10 can be delivered in a variety of settings. Some clubs use these Awards as stepping stones for new club members.

Schools may also wish to implement the Awards for more competent and confident swimmers. Holiday schemes also deliver the Awards as a crash course activity for children and other youth groups have added elements into activities too.

Which disciplines should we look to offer?

This will be influenced by a number of factors: What are your teachers interested in starting to deliver? Are there any limitations to your pool design which may make it harder to deliver some of the content? What local clubs are available to offer exit pathways? A quick teachers meeting to look at the outcomes of each stage and discuss these items may help.

What happens after a swimmer has achieved Learn to Swim Stage 10 in one of the disciplines?

The opportunities to further develop specific skills and interests should be available. Each pool should have a list of pathways and other opportunities for swimmers. Teachers and reception staff should be aware of these opportunities and be able to sign post and deal with queries.

Swimmers can either choose to have a go at Learn to Swim Stages 8-10 in a different discipline, or move to a club environment. Swimming programme coordinators should monitor the effectiveness of any transitions and the ability to retain swimmers with aquatic opportunities.