Swim England

A nation swimming

Wavepower 2020-23: Child safeguarding policy and procedures for clubs

To help clubs with child welfare we produce our Wavepower publication. This is our child safeguarding policies and procedures publication.

Wavepower must be adopted by all Swim England affiliated clubs and organisations. The latest version and can be viewed below.

The aim of Wavepower is to safeguard all children in line with current legislation, regulations and guidance and is for use within any Swim England affiliated organisation where children are present.

Wavepower consistently emphasises that the responsibility for child safeguarding in our sport belongs with all those involved in our sports and is not the sole responsibility of any one person at local, county or national level.

This document will be updated in 2023, but when updates or changes take place either in Swim England or through statute or governmental guidance these will be published on the website.

You can download the fully interactive Wavepower. It is in PDF format. Alternatively, you can read it online below. If it doesn’t load after a few seconds please refresh the page.

We hope you find this publication useful and welcome any feedback you may have. Send us an email at legal@swimming.org.

Safeguarding templates for clubs

Use the folders below to download print or digital versions of our useful safeguarding templates for clubs.

Digital templates

Print templates

Code of conduct templates

Further guidance on welfare

As well as Wavepower there are other welfare publications and resources clubs may find useful.

NSPCC and CPSU Guidance

County and Regional Welfare Officers

Enter the name of your county or region below and the search will automatically filter.

Click or tap the plus symbol for a county or region to view the full contact details.

To edit details, please contact joanne.garey@swimming.org.

County / Region
Name
Contact
Swim North West RegionAllan FreemanAllan.freeman@outlook.com
CheshireAllan FreemanAllan.freeman@outlook.com
CumbriaAndy Gallagherandygall74@gmail.com
LancashireBrian BoyleBrianboyle1@sky.com & 01925 637220
Swim North East RegionChris Hallidaynerwelfareofficer@asaner.org.uk
Northumberland & DurhamTracy Donnellydonnelly.777@zen.co.uk
Yorkshirewelfare@yorkshireswimming.org
East RegionJoanne Stalleywelfare@eastswimming.org
BedfordshireSuzanne Felcewelfare@bedscountyasa.com
CambridgeshireCarol Barriosbarrioscarol@hotmail.com
EssexCheryl Elliswelfare@essexswimming.org
HertfordshireKaren Stephenswelfare@swimherts.org
NorfolkShane Faseysmfasey@btinternet.com
SuffolkBobbie WilsonWilson.family1@talktalk.net
South East RegionShelley Robinsonwelfare@southeastswimming.org
Berkshire & South BucksRoger Penfoldsecretary@bsbasa.org
Oxfordshire & North BucksSarah Showlersarah.showler@googlemail.com
SussexChris Hobbschris.hobbs54@sky.com
HampshireGraham Stanleywelfareofficer@hampshireswimming.org
London RegionWelfare.officer@londonswimming.org
MiddlesexMaria Abramswelfare@middlesexswimming.com
KentAnn HuntAnn.hunt@kentswimming.org
SurreyJeni Colbournewelfare@surreyasa.co.uk
East Midlands RegionVacantVacant
DerbyshireTracie Wardtracie.ward60@gmail.com & 07857690083
LeicestershireUrsula Beckwelfare@leicestershireasa.org or ubeckursula@hotmail.com
LincolnshireVacantVacant
NottinghamshireVacantVacant
NorthamptonshirePaula Thomasp1thomas@sky.com
West Midlands RegionVacantVacant
ShropshireJean Childschilds234@btinternet.com & 07876596043
StaffordshireKate Mullinderkatem@staffsasa.co.uk
WarwickshirePam Daviesbwbdavies@btinternet.com
WorcestershireMalcolm RossMross.berrycottage@btinternet.com & 07939265833
South West RegionMarion BrittonMarion_britton@yahoo.co.uk
CornwallMartin MacDonaldmacandsandy@btinternet.com
WiltshireHeather Jones and Maurice Cleaverheatherjones_1@hotmail.com / maurice.e.cleaver@btinternet.com
DevonRosemary Jane BrimacombeWelfare.officer@devonswimming.org.uk
DorsetDi Gibbsdorsetasa@gmail.com
GloucestershireRachel Robertsrmbroberts1@gmail.com
SomersetGiulia Butlergiuliapridmore@hotmail.co.uk
Top