Swim England

A nation swimming

And the winners are … Swim England National Awards 2022 roll of honour

The achievements of the Swim England National Awards 2022 winners have been celebrated.

A total of 14 awards were handed out during a ceremony at the University of Birmingham’s Great Hall.

Awards host Michael Gunning praised all the finalists for going ‘above and beyond’ during a ’turbulent few years’ for aquatics.

He said: “It really has been a challenging time – first, the Covid-19 pandemic forcing the closure of pools across the UK, while the industry is now having to deal with the rising cost of living crisis, which is sadly having a major impact on so many facilities.

“One thing that has been unwavering during these turbulent few years, however, is the commitment of everyone involved in swimming, diving, artistic swimming and water polo.

Magical moments

“You have faced everything thrown at you with a steely determination to carry on regardless – whether that be through virtual training sessions, raising much-needed funds for your clubs, or fiercely campaigning for closed pools to reopen. 

“This year has seen a return to normality in terms of competitions returning to venues and there have been some brilliant moments for us all to remember.

“Whether that be club, county, regional, national or even international events, it’s been so good to be back, and just like the brilliant 11 days back in July and August when this city, Birmingham, hosted the Commonwealth Games, incredible history has been made. 

“Today is all about celebrating those magical moments – and the individuals who go above and beyond for our sport.”

Here are all the award winners and nominees:

Swim England Volunteer of the Year

  • Gold: Helen Dutton
  • Silver: Jemma Garry
  • Bronze: Winifred Woodcock
  • Finalists: Geoff Robilliard, Angela Eguakhide, Andy Hewat, Sue Clinton, Abbie Dale

Swim England Club of the Year

Artistic swimming

  • Gold: Denton Artistic Swimming Club
  • Finalist: Rugby Artistic Swimming Club


  • Gold: City of Sheffield Diving Club
  • Finalist: Luton Diving Club


  • Gold: Richmond Dales Amateur Swimming Club
  • Finalists: Droitwich Dolphins, Farnham Swimming Club, Newmarket and District Swimming Club, Sutton Swimming Club, Romford Town Swimming Club, Wirral Metro Swimming Club, Swindon Amateur Swimming Club

Water polo

  • Gold: Worthing Water Polo
  • Finalists: City of Coventry Water Polo; Rotherham Water Polo Club

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

  • Artistic swimming: Ranjuo Tomblin
  • Water polo: Harriet Dickens

Spirit of Commonwealth Games

  • Diving: Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix
  • Swimming: Will Perry

Technical Official of the Year

  • Gold: Ronald Brewin
  • Silver: Paula Brand
  • Bronze: Mark Wells
  • Finalists: Daniel Vernis, Judith Halliday, David Greenaway

Coach of the Year

  • Gold: Kirsteen Mitchell
  • Silver: Jessica Fletcher
  • Bronze: Lenka Tanner
  • Finalists: Marc Holdsworth, Nathan Jegou, Lisa Bates, James Lake, Allison Pratt

Youth Champion Award

  • Gold: Ryan Sawyer
  • Finalists: Ayushi Turner, Abigail Daly

Youth Volunteer of the Year 

  • Gold: Catherine Banham
  • Silver: Jack Naylor Dunn
  • Bronze: Eva Farmery
  • Finalists: Thomas Moore, Ryan Sawyer

Spirit of Aquatics

  • Gold: Joseph Cooper
  • Silver: Emily Crossley
  • Bronze: Kerri Clelow
  • Finalists: Juliette John, Ranjuo Tomblin, Grace Woolley, Oliver Morgan

 Harold Fern Award

  • Alan Boyle

Alfred H Turner Award

  • Rosa Gallop