Swim England

A nation swimming

Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Finalists for the Swim England National Awards 2023 revealed

Swim England are delighted to reveal the finalists for the Swim England National Awards 2023 after more than 1,000 nominations from across the aquatics community. 

A shortlist of nominees for 17 different awards have been chosen with the annual ceremony due to be held inside the Great Hall at the University of Birmingham on Saturday 18 November. 

The event will also recognise long service to aquatics with the latest inductees into the Swim England Hall of Fame and the Harold Fern and Alfred H Turner awards, whilst four stars of the future will be named Swim England Talent Athletes of the Year. 

Olympic medal-winning diver Leon Taylor and former Great Britain and Jamaica international swimmer Michael Gunning will host this year’s ceremony with tickets for the event on sale until 1 November. 

Ticket sales are now closed.

You can find all the finalists for the Swim England National Awards below.  

Swim England National Awards 2023 finalists

Volunteer of the Year
  • Sue Barrington
  • Ryan Carstairs
  • Hannah Coad
  • Elaine Gale
  • Tracy Miller
  • Ian Rollinson
  • Lee Scanlan
  • Sue Wainscot
Technical Official of the Year
  • Sarah Barrow
  • Ann Basford
  • Jill Beard
  • David Broome
  • Jean Childs
  • Chris Hobbs
  • Louise Johnson
  • David Metcalf
Youth Champion of the Year
  • Eid Aljazairli
  • Zoe Anderson
  • Jack Brown
  • Matthew Caoili
  • Kiarra Janikova
  • Jack Naylor-Dunn
  • Sophie Rowney
  • Adrian Ting
  • Alicia Walls
  • Shelley Whitehead
  • Ashton Willmott
Inclusion Impact Award
  • Borocuda Teesside ASC
  • Michelle Weltman
  • Unity Swimming CIC
Health Impact Award
  • Everyone Active
  • Freedom Leisure – Arc Leisure Centre
  • LiveWire Warrington
School Swimming and Water Safety Impact Award
  • Education Durham
  • Kirklees Active Leisure
  • Cross in Hand Primary School
Educator of the Year
  • Clare Brewer
  • Elizabeth Knight
  • Shelley Whitehead
Swimming Teacher of the Year
  • Abigail Carlisle
  • Phillip Sutton
  • Kara Williams
Swim School of the Year
  • Cridders Swim School
  • GR Swimming Schools
  • West Grinstead Swimming Academy

Club Of The Year Awards

Artistic Swimming Club of the Year
  • Aqualina ASC
  • Aquaoaks ASC
  • Bramcote AquaStars
  • Cheltenham SWPC
  • City of Leeds Synchronised SC
  • Kingston Synchronised SC
  • Rugby SC
  • Stockport Metro SC
Diving Club of the Year
  • City of Sheffield Diving Club
  • Dacorum Diving Club
  • Dive London Aquatics Club
  • Plymouth Diving Club
  • Southampton Diving Academy
Swimming Club of the Year
  • Altrincham SC
  • Chelsea & Westminster SC
  • Flitwick Dolphins SC
  • Radford SC
  • Redditch SC
  • Royal Tunbridge Wells Monson SC
  • Tadcaster York Sport Swim Squad
  • Trident SC
Water Polo Club of the Year
  • City of Manchester WPC
  • City of Sheffield WPC
  • Colchester SC
  • Devonport RSA
  • Grantham WPC
  • Winchester WPC

Coaching Awards

Artistic Swimming Coach of the Year
  • Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Denton Artistic Swimming Club
  • Sarah Pullan, Cheltenham SWPC
  • Hannah Secher, Rugby SC
  • Alyssa Ward, Rykneld SC
  • Maisie Wright, Aquaoaks ASC
Diving Coach of the Year
  • Alex Bagiu, Havering Cormorants Diving Club
  • Sally Freeman, Plymouth Diving
  • Matt Roberts, Southampton Diving Academy
  • Bron Jenkinson, City of Sheffield Diving Club
Swimming Coach of the Year
  • Nicola Bainbridge, Oswestry Otters SC
  • Bob Bolton, Trafford Metro
  • Emily Court, Bromley SC
  • Scott Garrett, Calne Alpha Four ASC
  • Charlie Goddard, Neptune (Leicester) SC
  • Jo King, Sevenoaks SC
  • Danny Martland, Tadcaster York Sport Swim Squad
  • Sarah Vanderloo, West Norfolk Swimming Club
Water Polo Coach of the Year
  • Lauren Hand, Mid Sussex Marlins
  • Shaun Hill, West London Penguin
  • Izzy Howe, City of Manchester WPC
  • Dave Lord, Grantham WPC
  • Gabrielle Williams, City of Sheffield WPC