Swim England

A nation swimming

Help us to shape the future values and vision of Swim England at our roadshows

Swim England National Awards 2023 officially open for nominations

The 2023 Swim England National Awards have opened for nominations where members and organisations of the aquatics community are recognised for their commitment and passion for our sports. 

This year’s ceremony will not just honour those who have excelled and made a significant contribution to our sports but will also recognise the very best of the aquatics workforce across the country.  

That’s because the event will include awards for our teachers, educators and swim schools so we can highlight their innovations and successes which we can all be inspired by. 

There’s also a brand new award for 2023 – the Swim England Inclusion Impact Award. 

This award recognises any individual, club, swim school, operator or Approved Training Centre that has championed inclusion and diversity within aquatics.  

Nominations for the awards are now open for the following categories… 

  • Swim England Sport Club of the Year (one award per aquatic discipline) 
  • Swim England Volunteer of the Year 
  • Swim England Technical Official of the Year 
  • Swim England Coach of the Year (one award per aquatic discipline) 
  • Swim England Inclusion Impact Award 
  • Swim England Youth Champion of the Year 
  • Swim England Educator of the Year 
  • Swim England Swimming Teacher of the Year 
  • Swim England Swim School of the Year 
  • Swim England Health Impact Award 
  • Swim England School Swimming and Water Impact Award 

There are also several other awards that will be given out at the ceremony. These are the Swim England Breakthrough Athlete of the Year awards as well as the Harold Fern and Alfred H Turner awards. 

An athlete from each sport that has produced the most outstanding results, whilst showing their commitment to our pathway throughout the last 12 months, will be awarded with the Breakthrough Athlete of the Year award.  

The Harold Fern and Alfred H Turner awards recognise individuals or organisations that has made the most outstanding contribution to aquatics at any level. 

Each of the winners will receive their awards at a live ceremony inside the Great Hall at the University of Birmingham on Saturday 18 November. 

A full summary of each of the awards can be found here. 

“One big celebration of aquatics”

Ahead of the awards, Swim England Chief Executive Jane Nickerson said: “The Swim England National Awards is always one of my favourite days of the year. 

“It’s a day where we get a great reminder of all the truly fantastic people and clubs involved in all our sports and those that make this community so special. 

“I’m delighted that this year we welcome our teaching and education awards to the ceremony so we can create one big celebration of aquatics. 

“I’m really looking forward to meeting all of our finalists in Birmingham so we can appreciate and reward our winners together.” 

Nominations open 1 June and close on 2 July. Follow the link to submit your nominations today.