Swim England

A nation swimming


Nominations open for the Swim England National Awards

Swim England News

Nominations are open for the inaugural Swim England National Awards which will take place at the Great Hall of the University of Birmingham on the 11 November 2017.

  • Click here to view all of the award categories and submit nominations.

This event highlights all of the amazing work people and organisations in the aquatics industry do every day. Our National Awards are now in their third year. This time around however, they will be taking on our new Swim England name and branding.

Our vision is a nation swimming. We work hard to ensure that there are chances for everyone to take to the water regularly. However, this couldn’t be achieved without the support and commitment of the workforce, volunteers and organisations delivering these opportunities on the ground.

Volunteer Engagement Manager Steph Elliott commented: “Our National Awards are one of the highlights of the year for me. It is very exciting to have the same fantastic awards transformed by our new Swim England identity.

“The Swim England National Awards recognise the hard work of some of the people who dedicate their time to help themselves or others achieve extraordinary things. It is a showcase of the journeys people take within the world of aquatics, and a celebration of the things they achieve on the way.”

As in previous years, there are 16 award categories. These range from Swim School of the Year through to the Achievement Award: Senior Participant. Nominations close on the 16 July 2017.

New updates for 2017

The awards will follow a similar format as previous years. However, there have been a number of tweaks to the categories.

There will be two winners per award, the winner and the runner-up. This replaces the bronze, silver and gold winners of previous years.

Swim School of the Year is now split into two categories. These are Swim School Member of the Year and National Learn to Swim Provider of the Year. This will help to bring recognition to some of our smaller swim schools who operate out of a single site.

The final change allows clubs to nominate themselves for Club of the Year and Performance Club of the Year.