Aquatic Skills Framework

The ASA Aquatic Skills Framework (Stages 8-10) is the section of the Learn to Swim Pathway that follows on from the ASA Learn to Swim Framework Stages 1-7.

It is targeted at swimmers who have achieved the basic fundamental movement skills which allow them to be competent and confident in the water and are at a stage where they are ready to learn a more advanced range of skills.

An important point to note is that learn to swim providers using the existing NPTS can continue to do so, as the outcomes and recommendations around delivery style for this Framework have not changed.  They now form part of the extended Learn to Swim Pathway.

The principles behind the ASA Aquatic Skills Framework are:

  • To offer an extended National Syllabus for multi-aquatic development
  • To offer competent and confident swimmers a choice of pathways to extend their interest and enjoyment in aquatic activities
  • To provide expected standards
  • To offer an outcome focused programme

The ASA Aquatic Skills Framework offers Stage Awards in:

Find out about available resources.

Sign up to the ASA School Swimming Charter. We're taking swimming seriously, are you? Purchase today Baby Swimming Lesson Guidelines - Parents IoS Training For Level 2 Teaching Qualifications